top of page
Story Bites Blue: Blackbeard's Treasure
Story Bites Blue: Blackbeard's Treasure

Story Bites Blue: Blackbeard's Treasure

Our inclusive and activity based book club for children with an interest age of 8-11 years

Time & Location

12 Feb, 15:30 – 16:30

Jacqson Diego Story Emporium, 444 London Rd, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea, Westcliff-on-Sea SS0 9LA, UK

About the Event

Story Bites Blue is an inclusive book club for children with an interest age of 8-11 years. We meet once a month to share a new book and explore it through games, crafts and talking. Everyone has a copy of the book in advance, and they can read or listen to it to get to know the story prior to the session. There is no reading during the session, just lots of fun exploring of the ideas in the book.

This month we’ll be meeting to explore another brilliant book! Booking is essential as we have limited spaces and the books are available the month before.

About the book:

Blackbeard's Treasure by Iszi Lawrence

A riveting pirate tale set in the eighteenth century during the golden age of piracy in the Caribbean, perfect for fans of Emma Carroll and Jacqueline Wilson. It's 1718: pirate ships sail the oceans and brutal slave masters control the plantations. Eleven-year-old Abigail Buckler lives with her father in the Caribbean.  Her clothes are made of finest muslin so she can't play in them, not that there's anyone to play with anyway. She isn't even allowed to go out alone. But when pirates attack Abigail's life will change forever.  Suddenly her old certainties about right and wrong, good and bad start to unravel. Maybe Abigail doesn't have to be so ladylike after all... Packed with historical detail about the Atlantic slave trade, the ravages of empire and human cost of providing luxuries like sugar, cotton and tobacco to Europe, Blackbeard's Treasure is a page-turning, swashbuckling adventure which takes a look at the real pirates of the Caribbean.

Tickets

  • Single Session

    £15.00

Total

£0.00

Share This Event

bottom of page